Sun Star Cebu City still under ECQ; Cebu Province now on MGCQ

CEBU City remains under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) until July 15, 2020 and is the only local government unit classified under strict restrictions in the country.

Cebu Province, except for Talisay City and the towns of Consolacion and Minglanilla, has been downgraded to modified general community quarantine (MGCQ).

Talisay, Minglanilla and Consolacion remain under general community quarantine (GCQ).

Governor Gwendolyn Garcia earlier appealed before the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Disease (IATF-MEID) for the downgrade of the Province's classification to MGCQ.

Health Secretary Francisco Duque III said the status of Cebu City is upon the recommendation of Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu, who is the chief overseer of the Covid-19 response and management in Cebu City. (MVG)